Sign in to follow this  
Noil

Server Traffic

Hey ho,

Actually I'm browsing around looking for good CDN offers, but I see they are settled on per traffic prices

for example you pay 0,119 USD for every GB your server produces in traffic.

So correct me if my perception is completly wrong in those pricing models ^_^ .

So there comes up a question, that I've got no to none experience of.

How much traffic does a herc based server produce if you are running the full server setup meaning the emulator itself+website including client downloads ( maybe put them on some file sharing providers would makes sense no? :D ) .. Well it depends on how many persons will play on the server,

but maybe we can get an average per person traffic or we are taking an average populated example. Be creativ! :rolleyes:

Mind sharing your experience?

Thanks in advance

Yours

Noil

Edited by Noil

@@Noil

I think if you don't have a really big server with 20000+ international requests per day and active userbase to go with it, a CDN isn't really worth it since the savings mostly come from splitting the traffic and less because the locations are nearer to your user, except when you want to deliver content to Asia for example.

Also i am not even sure if it has use for other things besides websites if your server wasn't reprogrammed to support to have itself spread over multiple servers that work with one database.

It is probably overkill and for the traffic i think it won't be that much depending on how load heavy your website is and how big and frequent your patches are and how you distribute your client. 

If you really want to go for a CDN you should check yourself how much traffic your server generates before deciding. Since it is such a relative thing from server to server that depends on many factors.

@@Winterfox

CDN doesn't mean that I have to have an active userbase of 20.000+ user requests there are little solutions out there too.