aabarreto

A Huge Lot of Questions

Question

Hey, guys!

So, I'm new around here and have been receiving some help (thanks, Daraen!)...

Instead of making a lot of posts, one for each doubt I have, I decided to great a big one (that tends to grow with the answers) and try to learn the most from the answers I get. Many thanks to everyone that finds some time to help a complete newbie.

So, let's go, for a start:

1. What's the emulator? Is it the "server" itself? It contains all the game files? If I change something, I should change there first somehow and then change in the client folder?

1.A. If that's the case, how to change stuff on the emulator? I don't seem to find a "data.grf" there...

2. What's the client and which one could I use? I'd like to use bRO (Brasil Ragnarok Online) as a base, instead of translating everything... Is it possible? I only need to download the client and the emulator will manage without any changes?

3. Is there anyway to import a lot of items/data from another server or I need to do it one by one?

1 answer to this question

1) Yes, emulator = server. No, it doesn't contains all game files. It contains only files for logic and npc translation. 

If you change logic - you don't change game files. If you add something(eg. custom hat) - you must. Also you can change map(their look) at client side and don't change nothing at server

1.A. Just google "How to change -put here- herc ragnarok" - a lot of guides

2. NPC translation on server side. At client side - skills, items. So you can use any client but copy some files from bRO. High % that you must create own .exe file for your server

3. No

1. Emulator: Hercules or rAthena.
- https://github.com/HerculesWS/Hercules
- https://github.com/rathena/rathena

Either you use, hercules, or rathena. all you will find in these links are emulators.